How to Navigate the Loss of a Loved One

June 19, 2022

When someone is taken from us, it’s one of the most overwhelming experiences that any person may endure. The pain and grief associated with losing a loved one are intense, and they can be difficult to understand or process. As cultures, we have long suppressed these emotions in favor of celebrating life through symbols such as funerals, However, grief must be recognized as a normal emotion in our society.

It is not possible to avoid grief and loss, but some methods can help deal with the pain of losing a loved one. Understanding the different stages of mourning is an important step in understanding and coping with death. The seven stages include shock, denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance, and processing grief. Though these emotions can seem negative, they serve an important function in the process of coping with bereavement. These feelings allow us to express how we feel and what we are experiencing as we react to lose.

Memorializing a Loved One

If you are recently bereaved, choosing from a range of commemorative cremation urns may be far from your thoughts. However, this is entirely normal. You are at the start of a journey that could take months to complete.

Stages of Grief

It has been theorized that there are anywhere up to seven stages of grief, but it is important to remember that grief doesn’t fit into a tidy process. There will be days when you feel as raw and as lost as you were when you were first bereaved.


Shock is the most common feeling when someone loses a loved one, and it often lasts for weeks after the loss. This stage of grief, sometimes referred to as disorientation, occurs immediately after losing someone. The thought that the person is gone forever can be overwhelming, leading to confusion and misunderstanding.


Denial is the next stage of grief aftershock. In this stage, the surviving loved ones are not able to accept or believe that their loved one is gone.


Anger can be one of the most uncomfortable emotions associated with losing a loved one. In this stage of grief, the surviving loved ones get frustrated and angry that their loved one has been taken from them, sometimes to the point of obsession.


When dealing with the loss of a loved one, it is often not possible to make sense of or accept what has happened.


Depression often occurs after denial. In this stage, the surviving loved ones will spend much of the time feeling empty and helpless.


Acceptance, or coming to terms with the loss of a loved one, is an important part of healing and moving forward. This doesn’t mean that they will never think about their loved one again, but they have come to terms with the loss and can accept that it has occurred.

Processing Grief

Processing grief allows the surviving loved ones to move forward in the process of releasing their emotions and accepting that their loved one is no longer around. This is a very slow process, but there are ways we can cope with our grief.

Whilst grief is a whirlwind of different emotions, it is important to remember that they are entirely normal and that they will pass. As difficult as it may be, it is important to express your emotions to those that have been affected by the loss. Encourage your loved ones to talk about their loved ones and allow them to share their memories.

You may also like

Common Features of Slingo Slots

Common Features of Slingo Slots